Edit Vendor  Edit Product
TakeTours > USA > East Coast Tours > New York, NY > 2-Day Martha's Vineyard, Rhode Island, Essex Steam Tra...

2-Day Martha's Vineyard, Rhode Island, Essex Steam Train Tour from New York

Tour Code: 455-989   
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 star68%
  • 4 star26%
  • 3 star0%
  • 2 star5%
  • 1 star0%
19 reviews | 37 photos
Available:
Sat (05/20/2017-09/30/2017); Mon, Wed(07/01/2017-08/31/2017)
Depart from:
New York, NY; East Brunswick, NJ; Flushing, NY; Brooklyn, NY
Duration:
2 Days 1 Night

Refer a Friend

Friend's Email Address:
Your Message:
Verification Code
Refresh the image
Register as affiliate
  • Already have a TakeTours account? Sign In
  • Not registered yet? Create Account and start earning commissions today.
  • Earn 3%-5% commission when your friend makes a purchase through your unique encoded link in the email.
  • Purchases are tracked automatically. See complete details at the TakeTours Affiliate Program
  • If you don't log in or register as affiliate, we can't award you any commission! Sign up here to become an affiliate.

Highlights: Visit the MarthaĎs Vineyard, Essex Steam Train Tour and Riverboat Ride, Breaker Mansion in Rhode Island. 1 night hotel accommodation. Round trip transportation and tour guide.

Price a Trip, Book Now

1 Departure Date:
2 Number of Rooms:
3 Departure: Find Closest Pickup
 6:30am 253 NJ-18 - East Brunswick, NJ - 5/25/2017 - 9/3/2017
 7:00am 6102 8th Ave - Brooklyn, NY
 8:00am 99 Bowery - Manhattan, NY
 8:30am 13330 39th Ave - Flushing, NY
4 Do you need to extend hotel stay? Read more
Pre-tour: If you arrive before the tour's starting date, please self check-in the hotel. The hotels near the pick up locations suggested (Red Roof Inn Edison, Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel Flushing, Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge New York)
Arriving Early? Yes No
Staying Late? Yes No
Total Fares:
TakeTours will refund the price difference for this tour if the price goes down within 14 days after your purchase. Learn More
$0.00†(incl. tax and fees)

Create Your Own Private Tour

You can use this tour reference to customize you vacation

Find a Travel Companion

By: Jayanta
2-Day Martha's Vineyard, Rhode Island, Essex Steam Train Tour from New York
Post a request for finding a partner to share the tour!

Traveler Reviews

Due to reading in the tour options descriptions for tour sites to optional, I informed the tour guide that I only wanted the Martha's Vineyard tours. I opted out of the day two tours. I was profou... More>>
This is my 4th tour with this company and I am very happy about it. We were a group of 6 (booked for 4 and got 2 free). We had a senior and a child in the group and had no problems. The Martha's V... More>>
The tour was really nice. Our tour guide, Helen Chen made sure everyone was comfortable. It was a very relaxing tour to enjoy the weekend. The bus driver was also helpful enough to make a no-hiccup jo... More>>

Recently Visited Tours

    Travel insurance

    TakeTours Newsletter

    Enter Email for Travel Deals
    Privacy Policy
    Write a Review

    Viewing all 19 tour reviews

    Click here for tour details and itinerary of 2-Day Martha's Vineyard, Rhode Island, Essex Steam Train Tour from New York

    Newest|Most Helpful

    < Previous††|†† 1† †2† |††Next >
    • Posted on: 2017-06-19
    • Name: digna
    • Star ratings:
    Due to reading in the tour options descriptions for tour sites to optional, I informed the tour guide that I only wanted the Martha's Vineyard tours. I opted out of the day two tours. I was profoundly surprised that there were no arrangements made if you were not going to do all their tours. The tour guide informed me that I would have to wait for the group to come back approximately three hours standing in the middle of a parking lot in the rain. She proceeded to go off with the rest of the group and I was left standing in the drizziling rain. I was horrified at the inconsideration and the disrespect. And to top it off, at the end of the trip, I was asked to pay an extra $16 dollars for tips. Read the fine print.
    Dear Digna, Please note that the tour consist of visiting and covering the places mentioned on the itinerary. Optional activities have an extra cost because tour guide will have to arrange tickets for the crew. If you opt out of of the optional activities you will still have the freedom to do some sightseeing on your own.As for the $16, this is the service fee mentioned on the tour page. ($8per passenger/day)
    Replied by: TakeTours on 2017-06-22
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-06-12
    • Name: Anna
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    This is my 4th tour with this company and I am very happy about it. We were a group of 6 (booked for 4 and got 2 free). We had a senior and a child in the group and had no problems. The Martha's Vineyard experience was so wonderful. It is a beautiful place. I wish that we could have spent more time there. Our tour guide, Helen was very friendly and very organized. I hope though that they were clearer and stricter as some of the people in our group was very noisy that it was almost impossible to hear her spiels in English.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2016-05-30
    • Name: Sudhesna
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    The tour was really nice. Our tour guide, Helen Chen made sure everyone was comfortable. It was a very relaxing tour to enjoy the weekend. The bus driver was also helpful enough to make a no-hiccup journey. The Essex steam ride was enthralling taking back to old childhood days. We were given ample time to roam by ourselves in the Martha's vineyard. Helen suggested good shops she knew. Thanks a lot for the journey!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2016-05-30
    • Name: Ana
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    I recommend this tour! My family and I had so much fun. I would like to thank the driver fand of course our guide her name was I believe Halen. She was amazing and very peaceful. We loved the train ride. It is so old and the ferry was amazing. The Martha's Vineyard is such a small town and Island. The place is so peaceful. The food is good too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2016-05-22
    • Name: Chocks
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    I traveled on May 21st. It was a great experience. The tour guide, Helen Chen made sure we had a smooth tour and took care of everyone's needs. The ferry from Martha's Vineyard got canceled, I was worried that I might get back very late to the city and it will be very tiring for next day work but she took care of the situation and we boarded the ferry from another port and we reached the city at the time given in the Itinerary. Overall a memorable Journey.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2015-08-12
    • Name: Sanjay
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    We traveled with an infant and the TakeTours team ensured we got the right seats and our travel was smooth. We opted out of the Breakers Mansion trip and instead did the cliff walk. Tour guide was accommodating of our preferences. Another nice thing the tour guide did for us, was gave us 2 hours of free time on the second day and of course everyone likes free time!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2015-08-10
    • Name: Breech
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    This is my first bus tour and Iím quite happy with it. The Tour guide, Suki, was a nice, cheerful Chinese lady. She was a tour guide/translator for the entire duration of the trip. I guess almost 80% of the people on the bus were Chinese, so thatís why Suki had to be the translator for them. She was nice and did explain to us the itinerary on our way there. She wasnít that keen on gathering us every time we boarded on some type of transportation other than the bus that we were on though. I thought it would be better if she gathered us all, especially when there's a crowd of tourists in a particular place. But over all, she was good. The only thing I wasnít really happy about this tour was the accommodation. It was really bad. I donít mean to be picky or anything, but the lady next to me was right when she mentioned how wrong it was for the tour guide to say were staying in a "hotel" when actually they made us stay in a "motel" (Motel 6). Iím normally okay with whatever but the bathroom looked like it hasnít been cleaned for ages. It was scary just to think of stepping on the bath tub with some kind of mold and accumulated dirt in it. The toilet wasnít that pleasing too. My friend didnít touch her bed/bed sheets upon seeing the sight. She was quite sure thereíd be bed bugs in it. I had to put some kind of a barrier (my scarf) between my head and my pillow just to be safe. The room smelled like someone just smoked in it before we came in. There was a connecting door to the next room and we could hear the people from the other room, talking which was creepy and awkward. The pathway towards our building wasnít event well lit. I was worried for the elders who were with us during the trip. They might trip on to something and break some bones. We stayed right across a Dunkin Donut store so that was quite comforting. Aside from that, there werenít any other establishments around. The bus was fairly good. I guess I had enough leg room and the leg rests were helpful for someone petite like me. The air conditioning was okay. Iím not much of an AC person, so it was good. The seats were quite itchy for some reasons but it was bearable. The itinerary was different from what was posted in the website. I thought we were staying at Martha's Vineyard and do the Essex Steam train on our way back but it was the opposite. I loved the Essex Steam train ride. It was an experience that would probably take you back to the early 1900s. I was fascinated by the ride and also by the old couple dressed up in 18th century costumes. The steam boat ride along the Connecticut River was great too. Very nice views of the summer houses and the castle which was at the very top of the hill. We had lunch at the boat. They sold hot dogs, sandwiches, and pretzels. Then we went to the Breakers Mansion in Rhode Island. It was a very unforgettable experience for someone who loves the early 1900s and European houses. The Vanderbiltís were the grandest. We werenít allowed to take photos inside the mansion, but I saw people sneaking photos. After that we went straight to the dinner place which was a Chinese buffet. There was no other place to go since they brought us to this area where there were no other food stores around. The buffet wasnít that great. The drinks were like diluted soda and the tea cups were quite dirty. I wish they brought us to some area where we could choose where to eat. Second day was all about Martha's Vineyard. We got there by a boat called Island Queen. It wasnít the perfect day for sailing, so it was windy and the waves were huge, but it was a nice experience. We got off the boat and went straight to the bus tour. The tour guide/driver was Tom, a very nice white guy who was born there and stayed there for the rest of his life. We were lucky enough since President Obama was on the Island that very day. Tom showed us the area where he was staying, and told us great stories about the Island and the famous people who owned properties there. My favorite part of the tour was the Gay Head Cliffs where the lighthouse was situated. I love lighthouses and the view was spectacular. It was a short time but was great. We went back to downtown Oak Bluffs and had lunch there. We ate at Island Bar and Grille per our tour guide's recommendation. I'd say i'd give it a 2.5/5 stars. There were many other restaurants around and I regret not going around first to look for better food places. Thereís a lot of tourists around, and I'd say the time of our stay in the island was too short but it was okay. We were back in Cape Cod by 3:00PM and went straight back home. Actually stopped in one service area in Connecticut and arrived in the city around 9:00PM. Overall, I'd recommend the tour since I loved the itinerary, but the accommodation must be improved.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2015-07-31
    • Name: Vanessa
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    It is my third bus tour with this tour company and I am never disappointed! Alicia, our tour guide, and Mike, our bus driver, were both very pleasing and accommodating. Not only our travel was smooth, but when my boyfriend lost his phone while we were on Martha's Vineyard, Alicia was so quick to help us. She's very friendly, too! Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy our 2-day trip! This will definitely NOT by our last tour with them because we'll take every single trip offered by this company!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2015-07-27
    • Name: Marita
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    This is my second time going on a tour with TakeTours and I am very happy with them, only in this 2 Days Martha's Vineyard tour, we were with one tour company, which is great, while our first to Montreal and Quebec was a different tour company. Both tour groups did excellent jobs. I would like to give credit to Helen, our tour guide in this weekend tour. She tried to accommodate every passenger and answered all my questions. I highly recommend this tour, and if I go back and do this all over, I would eliminate the 1 1/2 hours bus tour at Martha's Vineyard. Once is enough to drive through the 6 small towns at The Vineyard. I could now use that hours to spend more time in town, or go to the nearest beach. I loved the tour to the Breakers Mansion. The Essex Train and, Steamboat rides were awesome. The train was in the 1920's, even the conductor and the newspaper guy all dressed up in the 20's, and the newspaper news for in that 1920's time as well. This is one tour everyone has to take if given a chance. The hotel was good for a Days Inn, was very clean and next to McDonald's if you need some fast food. The bus was also very clean, and the following day, it smelled so fresh. I would love to do another tour- hopefully Helen can be our guide again, although this time at Shenandoah.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2014-09-20
    • Name: jefferson
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    This was a wonderful trip, and I highly recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys nature.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2013-09-02
    • Name: kris
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    love this tour. tour guide name's sunny is very nice.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2013-08-30
    • Name: amy
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    it was really confusing to start the trip because of the meeting point was not obvious. overall trip was great and relaxing. there are 2 kids in the last row of the seats are making out loudly, i wish the tour guide could have told them not to disturb the customer
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2013-07-12
    • Name: Teresita
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    The trip to Martha's Vineyard with LL Tours was a special experience. Our tour guide, Danny, was so accommodating and took care of all our needs. Transportation, hotel, food, and sightseeing were commendable. My friend and I could not have asked anything more. Danny even showed us how to get to our subway destination in Manhattan. He was so cheerful along the way and made our trip so enjoyable. Definitely, we will tour with LL Tours again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2013-07-12
    • Name: Teresita
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    The trip to Martha's Vineyard with LL Tours was a special experience. Our tour guide, Danny, was so accommodating and took care of all our needs. Transportation, hotel, food, and sightseeing were commendable. My friend and I could not have asked anything more. Danny even showed us how to get to our subway destination in Manhattan. He was so cheerful along the way and made our trip so enjoyable. Definitely, we will tour with LL Tours again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2013-05-27
    • Name: raja
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    Good
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    < Previous††|†† 1† †2† |††Next >

    Write a Review (*Last name will not be published)

    First Name: ††††††††Last Name:
    Email Address:
    Tour Guide:
    Accommodation:
    Transportation:
    Itinerary:
    Comments:
    Would you recommend this to a friend? YesNo

    Keep It Simple
    Post your review quickly and easily; everything you need is on this page!

    Reviews only, please!
    Please do not ask questions, report bugs or problems in this section.

    Need Help? Visit our FAQ.

    footer logo Copyright © 2017 by TakeTours.com. All rights reserved. TakeTours is a registered trademark of IvyMedia Corporation.
    Use of this website constitutes acceptance of TakeTours's Security Statement Privacy Policy and User Agreement