Edit Vendor  Edit Product
TakeTours > USA > East Coast Tours > New York, NY > 2-Day Martha's Vineyard, Rhode Island, Essex Steam Tra...

2-Day Martha's Vineyard, Rhode Island, Essex Steam Train Tour from New York

Tour Code: 455-989   
From USD  $128   
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 star67%
  • 4 star28%
  • 3 star0%
  • 2 star3%
  • 1 star0%
28 reviews
Available:
Sat (05/20/2017-09/30/2017); Mon, Wed(07/01/2017-08/31/2017)
Depart from:
New York, NY; Flushing, NY; East Brunswick, NJ; Brooklyn, NY
Duration:
2 Days 1 Night

Refer a Friend

Friend's Email Address:
Your Message:
Verification Code
Refresh the image
Register as affiliate
  • Already have a TakeTours account? Sign In
  • Not registered yet? Create Account and start earning commissions today.
  • Earn 3%-5% commission when your friend makes a purchase through your unique encoded link in the email.
  • Purchases are tracked automatically. See complete details at the TakeTours Affiliate Program
  • If you don't log in or register as affiliate, we can't award you any commission! Sign up here to become an affiliate.

Highlights: Visit the MarthaĎs Vineyard, Essex Steam Train Tour and Riverboat Ride, Breaker Mansion in Rhode Island. 1 night hotel accommodation. Round trip transportation and tour guide.

Price a Trip, Book Now

1 Departure Date:
Notify me when this tour is available.
2 Number of Rooms:
3 Departure: Find Closest Pickup
 7:00am 6102 8th Ave - Brooklyn, NY
 8:00am 99 Bowery - Manhattan, NY
 8:30am 13330 39th Ave - Flushing, NY
4 Do you need to extend hotel stay? Read more
Pre-tour: If you arrive before the tour's starting date, please self check-in the hotel. The hotels near the pick up locations suggested (Red Roof Inn Edison, Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel Flushing, Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge New York)
Arriving Early? Yes No
Staying Late? Yes No
Total Fares:
TakeTours will refund the price difference for this tour if the price goes down within 14 days after your purchase. Learn More
$0.00†(incl. tax and fees)

Create Your Own Private Tour

You can use this tour reference to customize you vacation

Find a Travel Companion

Post a request for finding a partner to share the tour!

Traveler Reviews

Good tour. Rebecca was an excellent tour guide.
The tour was great fun. Helen was knowledgeable and cooperative. Even though the weather on Martha's Vineyard was not good , overall the experience was good.
Zoe was our guide and narrated the entire trip with history & facts. She is best Tour guide to travel with. This is one the best trip for that quick getaway weekend. Martha's Vineyard is absol... More>>

Recently Visited Tours

    Travel insurance

    TakeTours Newsletter

    Enter Email for Travel Deals
    Privacy Policy
    Write a Review

    Viewing all 28 tour reviews

    Click here for tour details and itinerary of 2-Day Martha's Vineyard, Rhode Island, Essex Steam Train Tour from New York

    Newest|Most Helpful

    < Previous††|†† 1† †2† |††Next >
    • Posted on: 2017-10-03
    • Name: Julie Ann
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    Good tour. Rebecca was an excellent tour guide.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-09-05
    • Name: Joydeep
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    The tour was great fun. Helen was knowledgeable and cooperative. Even though the weather on Martha's Vineyard was not good , overall the experience was good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-09-05
    • Name: mike
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    Zoe was our guide and narrated the entire trip with history & facts. She is best Tour guide to travel with. This is one the best trip for that quick getaway weekend. Martha's Vineyard is absolutely Beautiful. Tank You for a great weekend and we'll be back again. Mike
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-09-04
    • Name: Bhavin
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    Tour was good value for money. Accommodation was very good. Bus had a few seats which faced in the opposite direction of the moving bus. Unfortunately we were allocated 2 seats which faced in the opposite direction. These seats were non-reclinable with two more seats facing us separated by a small table in between. Inconvenient to passengers as it may cause nausea and motion sickness. Only these seats in the bus were non- reclinable. The tour guide said that these seats are assigned by a computer program and she didn’t have the authority to change it with a younger couple or exchanged with a group/family of four. So we had to request a fellow passenger to change our seats. Suggestion to tour manager/ operator: 1. Avoid renting buses which have these reverse facing seats which are non-reclinable. 2. Just in case all your buses have such seats, allocate them only those 4 passengers who are already a group/ family. 3. Check year of birth of passengers. Allocate seats to people less than 40 years of age to the back of the bus. Those who are above 40 years of age, allocate seats in the front half to avoid giving them back-ache due to the jerks and jumps which are certainly expected on a long road trip. Rest of the itinerary was good. Tour guide explained everything well and the service was good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-08-07
    • Name: kathleen
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    This is our 3rd time touring with this company and it's addicting. Reaching multiple beautiful destination for less. The only thing is that there is no outlet in the bus to charge your phone so going to multiple destination where taking picture is necessary is not pleasant at all especially if you don't have a battery pack which happen to be the case of one of the passenger who ask me if I can share mine which I comply because her phone died the moment we reach The Breakers Mansion. Our visit to Martha's Vineyard is not enough regardless of how good you are with time management. It is a beautiful place. But of course, for the price you pay plus it is a tour for multiple destination it is understandable.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-08-07
    • Name: kathleen
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    This is our 3rd time touring with this company and it's addicting. Reaching multiple beautiful destination for less. The only thing is that there is no outlet in the bus to charge your phone so going to multiple destination where taking picture is necessary is not pleasant at all especially if you don't have a battery pack which happen to be the case of one of the passenger who ask me if I can share mine which I comply because her phone died the moment we reach The Breakers Mansion. Our visit to Martha's Vineyard is not enough regardless of how good you are with time management. It is a beautiful place. But of course, for the price you pay plus it is a tour for multiple destination it is understandable.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-07-30
    • Name: Josie
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    Had a wonderful experience with this tour and in particular my tour guide, Helen. She was organized, professional and helped us enjoy the full experience of every attraction. Not only do I recommend this tour I will be booking this again with friends and family. Two thumbs up ūüĎćūüŹĹūüĎćūüŹĹ
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-07-30
    • Name: Viking
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    First time to book here. Its affordable. Our tour guide was Helen, speaks both chinese and english and she does engage with people making travel easier. Just read the detailed itinerary so you come prepared. I gave 5 all the way, its worth its price for me, no fuss.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-07-24
    • Name: AMIL KUSAIN JR
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    Overall the trip was fun and I love it! Helen was an excellent tour guide. She was very organized about the trip. She gave a very clear instructions. The trip went well nobody was late. The weather was not very well but the trip went well. She was very knowledgeable about the area. I really recommend this trip and Helen to be your tour guide.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-06-19
    • Name: digna
    • Star ratings:
    Due to reading in the tour options descriptions for tour sites to optional, I informed the tour guide that I only wanted the Martha's Vineyard tours. I opted out of the day two tours. I was profoundly surprised that there were no arrangements made if you were not going to do all their tours. The tour guide informed me that I would have to wait for the group to come back approximately three hours standing in the middle of a parking lot in the rain. She proceeded to go off with the rest of the group and I was left standing in the drizziling rain. I was horrified at the inconsideration and the disrespect. And to top it off, at the end of the trip, I was asked to pay an extra $16 dollars for tips. Read the fine print.
    Dear Digna, Please note that the tour consist of visiting and covering the places mentioned on the itinerary. Optional activities have an extra cost because tour guide will have to arrange tickets for the crew. If you opt out of of the optional activities you will still have the freedom to do some sightseeing on your own.As for the $16, this is the service fee mentioned on the tour page. ($8per passenger/day)
    Replied by: TakeTours on 2017-06-22
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2017-06-12
    • Name: Anna
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    This is my 4th tour with this company and I am very happy about it. We were a group of 6 (booked for 4 and got 2 free). We had a senior and a child in the group and had no problems. The Martha's Vineyard experience was so wonderful. It is a beautiful place. I wish that we could have spent more time there. Our tour guide, Helen was very friendly and very organized. I hope though that they were clearer and stricter as some of the people in our group was very noisy that it was almost impossible to hear her spiels in English.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2016-05-30
    • Name: Sudhesna
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    The tour was really nice. Our tour guide, Helen Chen made sure everyone was comfortable. It was a very relaxing tour to enjoy the weekend. The bus driver was also helpful enough to make a no-hiccup journey. The Essex steam ride was enthralling taking back to old childhood days. We were given ample time to roam by ourselves in the Martha's vineyard. Helen suggested good shops she knew. Thanks a lot for the journey!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2016-05-30
    • Name: Ana
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    I recommend this tour! My family and I had so much fun. I would like to thank the driver fand of course our guide her name was I believe Halen. She was amazing and very peaceful. We loved the train ride. It is so old and the ferry was amazing. The Martha's Vineyard is such a small town and Island. The place is so peaceful. The food is good too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2016-05-22
    • Name: Chocks
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    I traveled on May 21st. It was a great experience. The tour guide, Helen Chen made sure we had a smooth tour and took care of everyone's needs. The ferry from Martha's Vineyard got canceled, I was worried that I might get back very late to the city and it will be very tiring for next day work but she took care of the situation and we boarded the ferry from another port and we reached the city at the time given in the Itinerary. Overall a memorable Journey.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    • Posted on: 2015-08-12
    • Name: Sanjay
    • Star ratings:
    I recommend this tour!
    We traveled with an infant and the TakeTours team ensured we got the right seats and our travel was smooth. We opted out of the Breakers Mansion trip and instead did the cliff walk. Tour guide was accommodating of our preferences. Another nice thing the tour guide did for us, was gave us 2 hours of free time on the second day and of course everyone likes free time!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
    < Previous††|†† 1† †2† |††Next >

    Write a Review (*Last name will not be published)

    First Name: ††††††††Last Name:
    Email Address:
    Tour Guide:
    Accommodation:
    Transportation:
    Itinerary:
    Comments:
    Would you recommend this to a friend? YesNo

    Keep It Simple
    Post your review quickly and easily; everything you need is on this page!

    Reviews only, please!
    Please do not ask questions, report bugs or problems in this section.

    Need Help? Visit our FAQ.

    footer logo Copyright © 2017 by TakeTours.com. All rights reserved. TakeTours is a registered trademark of IvyMedia Corporation.
    Use of this website constitutes acceptance of TakeTours's Security Statement Privacy Policy and User Agreement